Please click here to see the conversion table for old National Curriculum levels and GCSE grades to the new 1-9 grading structure.  Please note that the new grading structure will apply from Year 7 through to Year 11 from September 2016 with an expectation that students will make 1 grade progress each academic year.
Please see below the target setting structure which will apply from September 2016.  Please note that students will no longer be given national curriculum levels at the end of primary school.  Instead they will be given a standard score in which 100 represents the national average.  The government will only release details of the upper and lower limits of the scaled score once KS2 students have sat the new tests and the results processed.  For the purposes of illustrating our target setting process, we have used the old national curriculum levels, which you will be familiar with, to benchmark pupils starting points.  This will be updated as soon as the government publish the details of the scaled score in Summer 2016.


Target Setting System from September 2016


  Significantly below Nat Average Well below National Average Below National Average 100:

National Average

Above National Average Signicantly above National Average
Old KS2 National Curriculum Level equivalent on entry Level   1 Level 2 Level 3 Level 4 Level 5 Level 6
Year 7 Target Grade Developing Secure 1 2 3 5
Year 8 Target Grade Secure 1 2 3 4 6
Year 9 Target Grade 1 2 3 4 5 7
Year 10 Target Grade 2  3 4 5 6 8
Year 11 Target Grade 3 4 5 6 7 9


Please click here to see the presentation given by Ms Emmerson regarding the national changes to qualification and curriculum being implemented from 2015.  If you have any questions or queries please contact your child’s form tutor.